true

Tumour tissue is the collection of cells which forms a brain tumour. When people undergo surgery to treat a brain tumour, the surgeon aims to remove as much tumour tissue as possible. Some people may choose to donate this tumour tissue to research.

Tissue collection and subsequent model development are essential to driving discoveries in the laboratory. Without these important resources, we cannot hope to improve survival in these aggressive diseases. 

If you are thinking about tissue donation, the first step is to discuss your wishes with your treating oncologist. Your ability to donate your tissue will depend on a range of factors, so make sure you go into this conversation with an open mind. 

To collect tissue and associated data, a lab will require ethical approval both from the hospital and from the site in which the samples will be held. It is quite a lengthy process. The only way that a person can donate tissue is through a site that has this ethical approval in place with an associated laboratory or collection facility.  

There are many hospitals with ethical approval who collect tissue all across Australia, some of these include: 

Tissue and Data collection by State:

NSW 

AGOG Epidemiology (University of New South Wales) 

Donors recruited from: 

Liverpool Hospital NSW,

Prince of Wales Public Hospital NSW,

Prince of Wales Private Hospital NSW,

Royal Melbourne Hospital VIC,

Royal North Shore Hospital NSW,

Royal Prince Alfred Hospital NSW,

Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital WA,

St George Hospital NSW,

Royal Brisbane Women's Hospital QLD,

Austin Hospital VIC,

John Hunter Hospital NSW,

St Vincent's Hospital NSW,

Gosford Hospital NSW,

Royal Hobart Hospital TAS,

Campbelltown Hospital NSW 

Website: http://agogbio.unsw.edu.au/ 

Contact: A/Prof Claire Vajdic at claire.vajdic@unsw.edu.au 

 

Children's Cancer Institute Tumour Bank (University of New South Wales) 

Donors recruited from 

Adelaide Women and Children’s Hospital

Camperdown Hospital

Children’s Hospital Westmead

Flinders Medical Centre

John Hunter Hospital

Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital

Liverpool Hospital

Mater Hospital Brisbane

Monash Medical Centre

Newcastle Mater Hospital

Prince of Wales Hospital (and private)

Royal Adelaide Hospital

Royal Children’s Hospital Brisbane

Royal Children’s Hospital Melbourne

Royal Darwin Hospital

Royal North Shore Hospital

Royal Hobart Hospital

Royal Prince Alfred Hospital

St George Hospital

St Vincent’s Hospital

Sydney Children’s Hospital

Westmead Adults Hospital

Wollongong Hospital 

Contact: Ms Sarah Purdy at SPurdy@ccia.org.au 

 

Hunter Cancer Biobank 

Donors recruited from 

John Hunter Hospital

Calvary Mater Newcastle Hospital

Newcastle private hospitals 

Website: http://www.biobank.org.au/home 

Contact: Ms Cassandra Griffin at HCRA-biobank@newcastle.edu.au 

 

Kolling Institute Tumour Bank 

Donors recruited from 

Royal North Shore Hospital

North Shore Private Hospital 

Website: http://www.sydneyvital.org.au/biobank/ 

Contact: Ms Ussha Pillai kolling.tumourbanks@sydney.edu.au or ussha.pillai@sydney.edu.au 

 

RPAH Neuropathology Tumour and Tissue Bank (University of Sydney) 

Donors recruited from Royal Prince Alfred Hospital 

Contact: Dr Kim Kaufman kim.kaufman@sydney.edu.au 

 

The Children's Hospital at Westmead 

Donors recruited from Westmead Children's Hospital 

Website: https://www.schn.health.nsw.gov.au/health-professionals/statewide-laboratory-services/tumour-bank 

Contact: A/Prof Dan Catchpoole daniel.catchpoole@health.nsw.gov.au 

 

QLD 

Brisbane Breast Bank (University of Queensland Centre for Clinical Research) 

Donors recruited from 

Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital; This biobank collects secondary brain cancers (brain metastases) from donors with primary breast cancer, as well as other cancers. 

Website: http://www.uqccr.uq.edu.au/6450.aspx 

Contact: Dr Jodi Saunus or Mr Kaltin Ferguson j.saunus@uq.edu.au or k.ferguson2@uq.edu.au 

 

QIMR Berghofer/RBWH Brain Cancer and Cell Culture Bank 

Donors recruited from Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital 

Contact: Dr Bryan Day bryan.day@qimrberghofer.edu.au 

 

Diamantina Institute 

Donors recruited from 

Lady Cilento Children's Hospital

Mater Children's Private Hospital 

Website: https://child-health-research.centre.uq.edu.au/about/services-and-facilities/queensland-children%E2%80%99s-tumour-bank 

Contact: Dr Andrew Moore andrew.moore@uq.edu.au 

 

SA 

South Australian Neurological Tumour Bank 

Donors recruited from Flinders Medical Centre 

Website: http://www.flinders.edu.au/neuroscience/lab_neurology.html 

Contact: Dr Rebecca Ormsby rebecca.ormsby@flinders.edu.au 

 

VIC 

Alfred Brain Tumour Biobank (Monash University) 

Donors recruited from Alfred Hospital 

Contact: Ms Rashida Ali rashida.ali@monash.edu 

 

The Royal Children’s Hospital 

Donors recruited from Royal Children's Hospital 

Website: https://www.mcri.edu.au/research/projects/children%E2%80%99s-cancer-centre-tissue-bank 

Contact: Dr Louise Ludlow louise.ludlow@mcri.edu.au 

 

Monash Children's Cancer Biobank 

Donors recruited from Monash Children's Hospital 

Contact: Dr Peter Downie peter.downie@monashhealth.org 

 

Victorian Cancer Biobank 

Website: http://www.viccancerbiobank.org.au/ 

Contact: Dr Wayne Ng VCBEnquiries@cancervic.org.au 

 

WA 

Telethon Kid's Institute Brain Tumour Research Program Biobank 

Donors recruited from Princess Margaret Hospital for Children 

Contact: Ms Hilary Hii Hilary.Hii@telethonkids.org.au 

 

Not Recruiting Donors At This Time 

Australian Genomics and Clinical Outcomes of Glioma (AGOG) (University of NSW) 

Website: http://agogbio.unsw.edu.au/ 

Contact: Ms Irene Daris i.daris@unsw.edu.au 

 

Queensland Brain Tumour Bank 

Contact: Ms Deborah Gietzel cancer@wesleyresearch.com.au 

 

Steve and Lynette Waugh Brain Tumour Bank (University of NSW) 

Contact: Ms Irene Daris i.daris@unsw.edu.au 

back-to-top